Morocco

I went to Morocco last May 2015 with my roommates, Emily and Taylor, and two other friends, Sue and Jason. I think it’s safe to say that out of all the countries I’ve been to, my experience in this country has got to be the best one so far. There are just too many memories from this trip to describe.

So here are some of my favorite highlights:

Fes is a beautiful city, now a UNESCO World Heritage site. It is the cultural and spiritual capital of Morocco and you’ll certainly experience its vibrancy. We only stayed one night in the city, but it really is something. We spent a whole day exploring the old Medina, getting lost in it and falling in love with its food and culture.

IMG_4733

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 2.54.38 PM

The girls getting their tattoos on.
Tip: Never put your name, the men will start calling you out on it.

The next day, we packed up and headed to Midelt. We explored old roman ruins, played with wild monkeys, and even more amazing, visited the vast lakes and valleys, surrounded by pure desert with its rocks fossils.

IMG_4838

With our awesome guide, Hamid!

IMG_4771

Monkey-ing around with Abu

IMG_4747

I think my favorite place in Morocco is Merzouga. Here, we were able to appreciate the peace and tranquility of such a desert. We got the chance to meet a nomad family and have tea and some biscuits with them in their make-shift home. More than anything, we rode camels and enjoyed a night camping. One of the best experiences I had was the night we slept under the Berber starry sky. It is a must if you visit Morocco, truly an unforgettable feeling.

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 3_Fotor

IMG_4864IMG_4981

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 3.07.23 PM

IMG_4937

My camel, George, and me. 

IMG_4977

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 3_Fotor

The rest of the trip was equally amazing. We enjoyed Morocco’s natural beauty: gorges, rivers, oasis, more valleys, and even the hotels we stayed in. Aside from the desert, after this trip, my love for tajin, cous cous and moroccan tea is unbreakable.

IMG_5044

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_5068

IMG_4732

IMG_4697

We spent our last day in Marrakech.  That’s is a different story. The city is filled with such life and culture. We did most of our shopping here, because we knew that it was known for its leather goods. The main plaza is were most action happens. They have food booths and kioks, snakes and monkeys you can take photos with, and so much more. Filled with people, the main plaza is the heart of the city.

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 3_Fotor

To think, if I hadn’t accidentally contacted Moha Aventura to inquire about their rates, all of this wouldn’t have been possible. Not many my age can say that they’ve been to such a beautiful country. I’m just glad that I was able to experience it with great company.

IMG_4970

With our travel agent, Moha, in Merzouga.

P.S. Be sure to check out my next post about my short trip right after this one, in Budapest and Lille, with one of my favorite people! 🙂

Leave a Reply

